The government secured a comfortable majority to pass the Twentieth Amendment to the Constitution Bill in Parliament last night with 156 voting for and 65 against the Bill.

All government members voted for the Bill with several opposition MPs also voting for it.

SJB Anuradhapura District MPs Ishak Rahuman and MS Thowfeek, National List MP Dayana Gamage, Digamadulla MPs HMM Harees and Faizal Cassim, Badulla District MP A Aravindh Kumar, SLMC Batticaloa District MP Naseer Ahamad and MNA Puttalam District MP AS Raheem voted with the government MPs.

SLFP leader former President Maithripala Sirisena was absent.

When the second reading stage vote was taken the bill received 156 votes for and 65 votes against.

The SJB, NPP, TNA and several other opposition MPs from different independent parties voted against the Bill.

The final vote was taken last night at the end of two day of debate on the Bill which has been strongly opposed by opposition lawmakers but also by members of the Buddhist and catholic/Christian clergy, and civil society groups.

During the third reading of the Bill (Committee Stage) the government introduced several amendments, some in keeping with the determination of the Supreme Court and others suggested by those within the Government.

SJB National List MP Diana Gamage who supported 20A said she had voted according to her conscience