A nine-member Expert Committee has been appointed to  prepare the preliminary draft for a  new Constitution.

Cabinet approval for the appointment of the Committee was given on Wednesday after taking into consideration a proposal presented by Justice Minister Ali Sabry.

The Committee will be chaired by  President’s Counsel  Romesh De Silva. Its other members are   Gamini Marapana P.C.,  Manohara De Silva P.C.,  Sanjeewa Jayawardena P.C,  Samantha Ratwatte P.C , Prof. Naazima Kamardeen,  Dr. A .Sarveswaran, Prof. Wasantha Seneviratne and Prof.G.H. Peiris .

Cabinet spokesman  Minister Udaya Gammanpila said that the 20th Amendment to the Constitution is a  short-term measure to address the anomalies and shortcomings caused by the 19th Amendment to the Constitution in 2015 while a new constitution is will replace the current one.