The Constitutional Council ( CC) yesterday approved  Samantha Kumarasinghe , Owner, M/s. Nature’s Secret and Ranee Jayamaha, a former chairperson of the Hatton National Bank Plc and a former Deputy Governor of CBSL , to fill two  vacancies in the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) .

The two were nominated by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

They were appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of  Nihal Fonseka and Dr. Dushni Weerakoon. They resigned with effect from 31 May 2020.

Former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya chaired the meeting while Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and other members of the CC were present at the meeting.

Chairman of the Monetary Board is Central Bank Governor Prof. W.D. Lakshman, and the other member is Treasury Secretary S.R. Attygalle.

In February, Sanjeeva Jayawardena, President's Counsel, was appointed to the Monetary Board following the vacancy created by the resignation of Chrisantha Perera.

CC member former JVP MP Bimal Ratnayake makes a point during yesterday's meeting 
PM Mahinda Rajapaksa with CC Chairman former Spaker Karu Jayasuriya