A Constitutional Council will meet today to consider President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s nominees picked to fill the two vacancies in the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka’s (CBSL) created by the resignation of two of its members in late May.

Former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya who chairs the CC will preside at the meeting while Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and other members of the CC are expected to be present,  Parliament sources said.

The nominations sent by the  President for the two vacancies of the MB  will be taken up for  discussion at the meeting, he said.

The vacancies  were created by the resignation of two  members of the Monetary Board, Nihal Fonseka and Dr. Dushni Weerakoon, appointed during the previous regime. They resigned with effect from 31 May 2020.