The Government told announced that the ongoing curfew in the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara and Puttalam will remain in force until 5 a.m. on  27 April, backtracking from an earlier decision to relax the curfew in these areas on Wednesday (22 April).

The announcement came after the Health Ministry announced that 24 new cases of COVID-19 has been confirmed by this morning, the highest daily count since the first Sri Lankan person infected with the disease was identified on March 11. The total number detected so far stands at 295.

All the new patients were detected from the Bandaranayakapura area in Colombo- 12 which has been under lockdown for the past few days after a positive case was found there.

The new curfew announcement said that in all other districts, the curfew will be effective from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. till Friday 24 April. In these areas, curfew will be re-imposed at 8 p.m. Friday 24 April and continue until 5 a.m. Monday 27 April.

Travelling to and from the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara and Puttalam is completely prohibited for every citizen, the new curfew announcement from the President’s Media Division said.

Conditions and guidelines announced earlier on the continuation of essential services and agricultural activities will remain unchanged, it added.