The government today (6 April) announced the further extension of the curfew currently in force in the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna which have been designated as High Risk Zones.

The curfew in these districts will remain effective until further notice, the President’s Office said.

In all other districts, the curfew will  be relaxed at 6.00 am on Thursday 9 April 9 and will be re-imposed at 4.00 pm on the same day.

The week from today, Monday the 6 April to Friday, the 10 April has been declared as a period of work from home for the public as well as the private sector institutes.

Traveling to and from all districts has been completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the prime objective of ensuring the smooth and efficient functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law.
The government has put in place a mechanism to continuously supply essential food and other goods enabling the public to purchase them while at homes during curfew hours.
Those who are engaged in paddy farming and cultivation of small tea holdings and export crops in any district are permitted to carry out their activities.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa explains the progress of COVID -19 programs at a meeting today (6 April) Source: President’s Media Division (PMD)