President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has granted time till 31 January 2021  to the Commission of Inquiry (COI) appointed to investigate and report on the Easter Day bomb explosions  which took place on  21st April 2019.

The Commission was appointed by former President Maithripala Sirisena on 20 September 2019 and has been given two extensions by the current president.

The Commission’s members are Court of Appeal judges Janaka de Silva and Nissanka Bandula Karunaratne, Retired Judge of the Court of Appeal Nihal Sunil Rajapaksa, Retired Judge of the Court of Appeal   Bandula Kumara Atapattu and Retired Ministry Secretary Ms. W. M. M. R. Adikari.