The High Post Committee which met today  under the Chairmanship of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena  cleared the names of  eight of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s nominees  named to head Sri Lanka overseas missions.

The eight included former Minister and businessman Milinda Moragoda as High Commissioner to New Delhi, India  and a  former Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and onetime Sri Lanka’s  Permanent Representative to the UN   Palitha Kohona as Ambassador to  Beijing, China.

Th others whose names were cleared by the HPC are former Foreign Secretary Ravinatha Aryasinha to head the  mission in Washington DC, former Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo Kshanika Hirimburegama to France, Vishramal  Sanjiv Gunasekera as Ambassador to Tokyo, Japan, former Navy Commander Admiral (redt) Piyal De Silva as Ambassador  to Afghanistan, a onetime Cabinet Secretary   S. Amarasekera as Ambassador to  South Africa and senior journalist C.A.Chandraprema as Sri Lanka’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, in Geneva, Switzerland.

The HPC is tasked with examining the suitability of any person nominated for posts of Secretaries to Ministries, Heads of Missions abroad and Chairpersons of selected Corporations etc.