Election 2020

Online Registration System for newly elected MPs

The Parliament Secretariat has introduced an ‘’Online Registration System’’ for newly elected members of the Ninth Parliament to submit their personal details to the Secretariat.

Names of the 196 newly elecetd MPs gazetted

The Election Commission (EC) today issued the gazette notification with the names of the 196 Members of Parliament (MP)s elected in Wednesday’s general election.

Mahinda Rajapaksa takes oaths as PM

Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as Prime Minister for the fourth time before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Kelaniya Raja Maha Viharaya today.

SLPP announces National List nominees

The SLPP announced its17 nominees from the National List who will be appointed to Parliament.

67 from last Parliament lose seats

Sixty six MPs from the last Parliament lost their seats in Wednesday's general election.

Over 700,00 votes rejected, turnout around 76 %

Over 700,000 votes cast at Wednesday’s parliamentary election were rejected, a steep rise from the less than 140,000 rejected votes cast at last November’s presidential election.

Three candidates died before poll date

Three candidates who had handed in nomination papers to contest yesterday’s parliamentary election died prior to the poll and were replaced by others.