The Election Commission has fixed June 20 as the new date for the parliamentary election, Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya announced today.

The relevant gazette was issued  under Section 24(3) of the Parliament Elections Act, No. 01 of 1981.

The new date for the poll was announced exactly a month after the poll scheduled for 25 April was postponed due to the outbreak of the coronavirus in the county.