The inaugural sitting of the Ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka will commence at 9.30 a.m. today.

The first item on the agenda  when the House convenes is the election of the Speaker in accordance with Standing Orders  of Parliament.

SLPP Matara District  MP Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena will be proposed for the post of Speaker.

This will be followed by all  new Members of Parliament  (MP)s taking their official oaths or affirmation before the new Speaker.  The appointment of a Deputy Speaker and a Deputy Chairperson of Committees will come next.

Kegalle District MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya is slated to be named Deputy Speaker while SLFP Jaffna District MP Angajan Ramanathan is likely to be named Deputy Chairperson of Committees, official sources said.

The House will be suspended  following this and will reconvene at 3 p.m. when the ceremonial sitting of Parliament will commence, with the President presiding.

The ceremonial sitting will be kept simple minus the  gun salutes or vehicle parade which is usually part and parcel of such a meeting of the  House. Instead a few  cultural performances will  be held to welcome the President .

President Rajapaksa has broken with tradition and chosen to deliver the Policy Statement on the same day that the new parliament convenes whereas conventionally a ceremonial sitting is held on a  later date.

You can watch the live telecast of the inaugural session on the official Facebook Page and  YouTube channel of the Parliament of Sri Lanka. Links below:-