Former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya yesterday bid adieu to the Constitutional Council (CC) which he has chaired since 2015, when the final meeting of the CC was held last evening.

The CC which is chaired by the Speaker of Parliament will be reconstituted after the election.

The CC was set up under the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution  passed in May 2015.

The outgoing chairman thanked the Prime Minister and the members of the CC for the support extended during his tenure and said he appreciated the corporation they have extended to allow decisions to be made unanimously without any disagreement.

He also thanked the Secretary General and the staff of the Parliament for the assistance given to the council to conduct its meeting in an efficient and orderly manner and  also thanked all the independent commissions for the cooperation they have extended to the Constitutional Council.

The Prime Minister thanked the chairman and the former Speaker for conducting all the meetings in a cordial atmosphere accommodating various views of all members of the council while CC member Mahinda Samarasinghe also  concurred with the sentiments expressed by the Prime Minister.

Former MP Bimal Ratnayake also appreciated the role played by the chairman during his tenure and said Jayasuriya was always an exceptional Speaker who stood by the Parliament. He noted that Jayasuriya has played a key role in developing the Parliament to suit the modern requirements.

The other two members of the CC   Javed Yousuf and Prof.Naganathan Selvakumaran also thanked the outcoming CC Chairman.

Former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya thanked the CC members & staff of Parliament