President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today assigned to himself the Ministry of Defence and the newly created Ministry of Technology and appointed Sarath Weerasekera as a Cabinet Minister to the newly created Ministry of Public Security.

Weerasekera held the post of State Minister of Provincial Councils & Local Government prior to today’s appointment. This new Ministry will have four institutions under it including the Sri Lanka Police and the Civil Defence Department.

With the enactment of the Twentieth Amendment to the Constitution in October, the President can hold any number of Ministries. The 19th Amendment the Constitution which was repealed by the 20th Amendment prohibited the Executive from holding any ministry including that of Defence.

The Technology Ministry which will function under the President has e ten institutions under its purview including the Telecommunication Regulatory Authority of Sri Lanka (TRCSL), Information and Commutation technology Agency (ICTA), Sri Lanka Telecom, and the Registering of Persons Department.