Two newly elected Members of Parliament (MP)s will come to Parliament tomorrow  to take their oaths, straight from prison.

They are SLPP Ratnapura District MP Premalal  Jayasekara and  Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan alias Pilliyan who as elected to Parliament from the Batticaloa District.

Jayasekera was sentenced  to death by the Ratnapuara High Court   in July  was granted  permission to attend the inaugural sitting on Thursday after he filed an appeal challenging his conviction. . A copy of the appeal was sent to Parliament and It has been forwarded to the Prisons Department.

Less than a week after he was sentenced to death,   Jayasekera won a Parliamentary seat securing  104,237 votes , coming second in the Ratnapura preferential votes list.

Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan, who was elected as MPs from the  Batticaloa District was  granted permission to attend Parliament by the  Batticaloa High Court yesterday.

Chandrakanthan better known as Pilliyan contested from the  Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) while in  remand custody as an accused in murder of former ITAK MP Joseph Pararajasingham who was shot dead  during  Christmas Mass in a Batticaloa church in 2005. Chandrakanthan topped the Batticaloa District preferential list winning  54,198 votes.

The two will be brought to Parliament in a  Black Maria and taken back to prison at the end of the sittings.