The High Post Committee of Parliament has called for representations from individuals and organizations in connection with six  of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s nominees  picked to head Sri Lanka overseas missions.

The notice calling for the public to send representations/petitions regarding the appointments  has been published in newspapers  by the Secretary to the Committee.

The six nominees are former Foreign Secretary Ravinatha Aryasinha to head the  mission in Washington DC, former Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo Kshanika Hirimburegama to France,  a former Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and onetime Sri Lanka’s  Permanent Representative to the UN   Palitha Kohonna as ambassador to  Beijing, China,  former Minister and businessman Milinda Moragoda to New Delhi, India , Sanjiv Gunasekera as Ambassador to Tokyo, Japan and former Navy Commander Admiral (redt) Piyal De Silva as Ambassador  to Afghanistan.

The HPC is tasked with examining the suitability of any person nominated for posts of Secretaries to Ministries, Heads of Missions abroad and Chairpersons of selected Corporations etc.  and call for public representation after the names of the nominees are forwarded to it.