In spite of  concerns over the spread of COVID-19 , polling was brisk in most areas as voting in the 2020 parliamentary election began at 7 a.m. today with strict health guidelines in place to minimize the risk of the spread of the coronavirus on election day.

Here are some scenes as politicians  joined thousands of others to cast their votes across the country.

A elderly voter makes his way to the polling booth 
President Gotabaya Rajapaksa looked relaxed as he voted at a booth close to his house at Pengiriwatta Road, Nugegoda
Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was joined by his family members on the way to the polling booth at Hambantota 
UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe voted at College House in Colombo 
TNA candidate M.A.Sumanthiran voted in Jaffna 
EPDP leader ouglas Devananda also voted in Jaffna 
All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) leader Rishad Bathiudeen voted in the Vanni District 
National Freedom Front (NFF) leader Wimal Weerwawansa voted in Kaduwela 
Pivithuru Hela Urumaya leader Udaya Gammanpila also voted in the Colombo District
JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake also voted in the Colombo District