The three new members  appointed to the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) assumed duties today.

They are Sanjeeva Jayawardena, President’s Counsel who was appointed as a Member of the Monetary Board with effect from 26.02.2020 and Dr Ranee Jayamaha and Samantha Kumarasinghe who were appointed as Members of the Monetary Board with effect from 29.06.2020.

They were appointed to the Board by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, under section 8(2)(c) of the Monetary Law Act with the approval of the Constitutional Council.

More details of the appointees were contained in a  press release issued by CBSL today. The link to the release is below:-