President  Gotabaya Rajapaksa will present the new Government ‘s Policy Statement at a ceremonial sitting of the first session of the Ninth Parliament on Thursday afternoon, the same day  newly elected MPs are sworn in.

Parliament will meet at 9.30 a.m. on 20 August   where the new  Speaker will be first appointed following which the MPs will take their  oaths before him.  The Speaker will be sworn in by the Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake in keeping with the Standing Orders of the House.

Sitting will be suspended after this and will resume at 3 p.m.  when the President will make the  statement of  Government's policy as provided by Article 33(2) of the Constitution.

Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena’s name has been confirmed  for the post of Speaker.

The ceremonial sitting at which the President will address  the House will be low key with the SG receiving him upon arrival at the  Parliament building, followed by the hoisting of the Presidential flag.

The President will deliver the Policy Statement from  the Speaker’s Chair as has been the practice.