The Government today  extended the Work-From-Home (WFH) period till 20 April  and announced the curfew in six High Risk districts would continue until further notice.

Residents in all other districts other than  Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttlam, Kandy and Jaffna  will get a reprieve from the curfew  between 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. on 16 April, the President’s Media Division (PMD ) said in a news release.

The Government’s WFH arrangement came into effect from 30 March, for both the public and private sectors, to restrict movement in a bid to contain the spread of the corona virus.

The Government gave guidelines on  how to implement the WFH arrangement in the state sector  with heads of each institution tasked with preparing and implementing institution- specific WFH plans .

The availability of employees  for WFH is between 8.30 a.m. and 4.14 p.m.  but this can be made flexible by the Head of the Institution (HOI).

The Information and Communication Technology Agency (ICTA)  is assisting in the WFH arrangement by creating a common online platform  to serve as an online resource pool for state sector workers.